baker Blinker's Weblog

First and Second Life at least.

Gallery Jack, etc. February 13, 2011

Filed under: Gallery Jack,Mãebaleia Continent,Pietmond,The Shallows,Uncategorized — baker Blinker @ 9:54 am

New gallery in Pietmond. Well, sort of. It’s a kind of condensed mashup of all present Pietmond galleries rolled up into one. Gallery Jack is what I call it for now, just a spontaneous choice and no, real connection with the older Gallery Jack that use to hold many of my art 10×10 collages (although a couple of my collages are still within). I’m still working on the details, but when I’m finished I’ll provide a mini-tour. Two duplicate versions of this new Gallery Jack exist right now, one in Pietmond and the other in the Foxboro sim I just set up day before yesterday. The idea, I believe, is that if you don’t have time to visit and walk around all the Pietmond galleries, this acts as a bite sized version of what the town has to offer. Perhaps you’ll like what you see and want to explore more. Or maybe you’ll say, pheh, and move on to other, more exciting (to you) offerings from Our Second Life. Absolutely no prob if you do — so many interesting, creative things going on in this great, virtual universe.

I also see Gallery Jack as a type of Welcome Area to Pietmond in general, and along these lines I think I’d like to create a travel guide. A map is obviously next, with teleport options included. Thinking as well of a Pietmond magazine that links to a web site on the subject.

Gallery Jack (background center) from Downtown’s Rooftop Bar.

==========

Then in other developments, somewhat related, I decided not to rent a 1024 in the heart of the Maebaleia continent (landscape pictured below), but *did* create a nearby hideout of sorts in the center of what might be termed a very shallow sink. I don’t want to give out the exact location quite yet, since it’s a hideout and all, but I’ll provide some pictures.

First the hill beside the property I decided not to rent, in northern Brander. I’m quite impressed with the rolling hills topography of lower central Maebaleia, and definitely plan to explore around there more. I’m unsure if I’ll remain in Foxboro for any length of time, but I have the hideout now, after all…

Here’s a picture of the view out the front window of my hideout (gotta get a name!). Love the car poking out of the landscape there. Reminds me of Carhenge in Nebraska. Is this the last standing car of what was once a type of similar monument?

I should add, for now, that *pyramids* are part of the hideout motif as well, and that, along with the sink aspect, is what drew me to the spot in the first place. I have a feeling Hucka D and/or Chester will have some more things to say about all this. In a number of ways it reminds me of Hucka D.’s Cabron property that he claimed his father use to own, another “hideout”. I can tell Chester is dying to say some things so let’s just open the barn door. “Chester?”

Chester:

*My* property[ this time]. *My* father. Tom. Mount Tom.

bb:

And Porter is a, er, brother?

Chester:

Yes. Gary is an uncle. Uncle Gary. Jackson 5.

bb:

Pretty interesting, Chester (!), given that there are a number of pyramids on the property now.*

So we just happen to start talking to you on the blog, Chester, then just happen to find your old homestead in Second Life.

Chester:

Yes sir.

bb:

Can you tell us more[ of the story]?

Chester:

Link of East and West. Pyramid… Mt. Tom. My father was/is a pyramid. All Seeing.

bb:

Is your father Wilson?

Chester:

My mother is Wheeler.

bb:

Is that a yes, then? Are your father and mother Wilson and Wheeler, then?

Chester:

Yes.

And Porter’s as well.

Chester:

That is correct sir.

bb:

What has Oz got to do with all this?

Chester:

Pink Floyd played at the Egyptian pyramids but not at the Indiana Dunes. Tom solved this by inviting Sink Floyd to play instead. Chesterton is in the middle of a sink.

bb:

You mean my hideout Chesterton. That’s the name? Same as the Indiana city?

Chester:

No. It’s Alliance.

bb:

I also decided, for now at least, not to rent in Blackmount, Chester.

Chester:

I do not know of such things.

bb:

Hucka D. back to traveling[ around]?

Chester:

He has left you with me. Aren’t you happy, aren’t you glad? Hucka D. is bossy. Hucka D. says I like to talk in spades. Card tricks. Just kidding. I like Hucka D. Don’t love him, but like him. Somewhat. No, really, he’s great. Good and great and fair. Semi-fair.

bb:

So Chesterton becomes a new focus. What is the relationship of Chesterton, Indiana to this shallow sink with the hideout that belonged to your father, Chester’s father, in Second Life?

Chester:

Wormhole. The Same. Poking through. All Seeing Eye.

bb:

Is this Jack? One Eyed Jack?

Chester:

Spades.

==========

* see this slightly earlier post for the basic story on pyramids and Chesterton, Indiana

 

Leave a Reply

