baker Blinker's Weblog

First and Second Life at least.

Wider than the sea… December 4, 2009

Filed under: Greenup Yd.,Hucka D.,Yd Island — baker Blinker @ 11:10 am

“I miss Plant, Hucka D.”

Hucka D.:

You wanna speak to him?

bb:

Is that the Sunklands guy again? Greenup Yd.?

Hucka D.:

Yeah. Here he or she or it is.

Greenup Yd.:

Hello baker Beach.

bb:

Hmmm… you use my real name, like Plant use to do.

Greenup Yd.:

Still does. How do you like me so far?

bb:

You mean the island?

Greenup Yd.:

Yes. Me.

bb:

Well, it’s really quite fascinating in places. Maybe — dare I say — the most interesting place yet I’ve lived at in Second Lyfe. I supposed I’ve also “y-ed” SL now, Greenup Yd..

Greenup Yd.:

I am/ am not Vileness Flats.

bb:

The giant fish… yes, I was going to ask about that tonight.

Greenup Yd.:

I am not the fish. Yet I am. Inside-out. Feet on the ground and up in the air.

bb:

Greenup and yellow down, then.

Greenup Yd.:

I am a measure. The Measure.

bb:

Hucka D. mentioned that the Vileness fish is color blind, but in the impossible green-yellow spectrum. That is, as Hucka D. put it, if Vileness fish could drive a car, he would be constantly running through yellow lights with no hesitation, thinking they were green. Maybe you have the same vision problem, then?

Greenup Yd.:

Nes. Yo.

bb:

Dyslexic. Don’t worry, I am too a bit. Very often, I’ll write in this blog that something is east of something else and I’ll recheck and see it is west.

Greenup Yd.:

The fish is a bird [then].

bb:

When I told Hucka D. that green-yellow is not a true color blindness condition (most commonly red-green but sometimes blue-yellow), he countered, unperturbed, by saying there’s also a blue-red color blindness…

Greenup Yd.:

Fish. Fish. (pause) Fish.

bb:

Physh?

Hucka D.:

We better tuck him back in for the night. The Island, ladies and gents. You’re going to see he likes to measure things in yards, perhaps fabric.

bb:

Nice. I assume you want me to go back to The Measure soon.

Hucka D.:

Go every night if you wish. You’ll see how Yd Island is more interesting than the more planned Nautilus City Island, at least now and in the present.

bb:

Oh… what about Rabbit Head??

Hucka D.:

That’s a direct carryover or imprint from Big Sink and Sunklands. To remember them by. It’s a Bozho.

bb:

Bunny Boy mentions Nanabozho, Hucka D.*

Hucka D.:

Bunny Boy is one smarter f*cker.

bb (playfully reprimanding):

Hucka D.! I’ve never heard you use foul language.

Hucka D.:

Fowl.

bb:

And I think you’re going to say…

Hucka D. (interrupting):

The Numbers, right. You can see them in [this picture], on one of the ears.** 28064212.

bb:

About the same time as a lunar cycle[, then].

Hucka D.:

It is the same. It is The Moon. Sun and Moon as one and all and all in one.

bb:

Obviously, Hucka D., I had to get rid of The Sun in my move to Yd Island. Still have The Moon, though.

Hucka D.:

The Sun must return sometime.***

bb:

Can we talk more of the Vileness fish tonight?

Hucka D. (measured):

Green. Red. Blue. (pause) Yellow. Green. (pause) Red. Blue.

bb:

TILE, then?

Hucka D.:

Better end. Save me a waffle iron.

bb:

Oh… ok. Goodnight.

Hucka D.:

Goodnight.

*****

* link to related video is here, and blog entry here

** better picture here

*** Hucka D. and I are referring here to the 30x30x30 Edwardston Station Gallery (Moon) and the same proportioned 30x30x30 Temple of TILE (Sun). See here for how they once combined.

 

One Response to “Wider than the sea…”

  1. […] Flats, or a flat fish?), but I suppose it is, or at least a representation of such. See also here for this. I also suppose my Yd Island property has just inched up a little in value. Think I’ll stay […]


Leave a Reply

