baker Blinker's Weblog

First and Second Life at least.

Plant Another One… August 6, 2009

Filed under: Blue Feather Gallery owner,Hucka D.,Nowtown/Zen City,Plant,Sternberg — baker Blinker @ 8:39 am

Plant:

I’m glad you decided to go back to Nowtown, baker Beach. Now you will see the truth. I lived there. In a Psycho House. Same as in Ashville… surrounded by ring of ash, but now destroyed. The Fyre Maven, well…

bb:

Is it the same as the one who created Rubisea? Is the Fyre Maven stream the same as Unnasty Branch in Bluedrake? After all, there is a Black Drake sim just above it.

Plant:

Black Dog?

Hucka D.:

I’m here. We must continue with The Plant. Century?

Plant:

Call the Blue Feather Gallery again, baker Beach. 123-456-7890.

bb:

I’m not sure…

Hucka D.:

Do call. You’ll…

bb:

Alright.

(baker b. calls the number; the same woman, or apparently the same woman as before, answers the phone).

“Blue Feather Gallery, how may I help you?”

bb:

Hello. It’s me again. The person who called from Ashville, North Carolina and ordered the Sternberg print.

Woman:

Sternberg is one of our more popular items. You chose the Zeppelin tube print, correct? I remember.

bb:

I think so. Are you… well, remind me of your address.

Woman:

That print was shipped out yesterday so it should arrive sometime next week, hopefully.

bb:

Yeah, great. Can’t wait… good price.

Plant:

Ask her about the star.

bb (ignoring Plant):

So can you send me a brochure or something? I have some other artists in the area that might be interested in , especially, Sternberg.

Plant:

That’s just Page again…

Woman:

We don’t have a brochure prepared. Sorry. We’re a little in the backwater here in Iowa.

bb:

Iowa?

Woman:

Yes, Audubon County.

bb:

Gray something, by chance?

Woman:

Yes sir. Gray itself.

bb:

Hmmmm…

Woman:

As I said, you should get that print next week sometime. Is there anything else I can help you with today?

Plant:

Ask her where Sternberg lives.

bb:

Alright, alright. Ma’am?

Woman:

Yes?

bb:

Can you tell me the location of the artist Sternberg? I don’t remember the first name.

Woman:

Charles Aspinger Sternberg.

Plant (impatiently):

Did you get it?

bb:

Hold your horses, Plant.

Woman:

Yes, here it is. He’s in, um, Wall Lake, Iowa. He works exclusively with us right now, but I believe he wants to open his own gallery soon. I’m not sure if it will be in Wall Lake or not.

bb:

Thank you for your time. Nice talking with you and thank you once again for the Sternberg print.

Woman:

Our pleasure. Let us know how else we can assist you in your art collecting. Have a nice day.

bb:

You too. (baker hangs up).

Plant:

Well???

bb:

He’s in Wall Lake, Iowa.

Plant:

Well I’ll be.

Hucka D.:

Which one?

bb:

I don’t know. Let’s check wikipedia. (checks wikipedia). Hmmm… birthplace of Andy Williams, the singer.

Plant:

Bah. No talent.

bb:

Really. I kind of liked what I heard. Moon River… isn’t that the most famous piece he sang?

(Plant here does a very bad imitation of Andy Williams singing Moon River.)

bb:

That was horrible!

Plant:

See? What kind of river is wider than the sea?

bb:

Let me check the rest of the lyrics (looks up lyrics).

Plant:

We’re not dealing with Sternberg. Where’d The Bee go?

bb:

Hold on… and it’s “wider than a mile” Mr. Plant.

Plant (indifferently):

Sea, mile…

bb:

A Moonwall visited the Horisme gallery complex not too long ago. Thought of the two most famous Pink Floyd albums Dark Side of the Moon…

Plant (interrupting):

Bah once more. (waves hand in disgust).

bb:

You not a Pink Floyd fan either?

Plant:

You have to eat mushrooms to understand them. The early stuff… later stuff is not too bad. Brain Damage. Banging your head against some bugger’s mad wall.

bb:

I though it was head too for a long time. But it’s “heart”… banging your heart against some mad bugger’s wall.

Plant:

Again…

bb:

Yeah, I know… “what-ever”. Do you like The Beatles, Mr. Plant?

(Plant here gives a very icy stare to bb; doesn’t answer).

bb:

OK, I’ll take that — you can stop staring at me now — I’ll take that for a no.

(Plant still stares at bb; finally breaks off.)

Plant:

Look up Sternberg please. No more stalling.

bb:

(checking) Nothing with Sternberg + “Wall City”. Surprising there. Charles Sternberg, did she say?

Plant:

I didn’t hear. You were talking to her.

bb:

Pretty sure it was Charles. Let’s see… (checking) I don’t think this is the fellow... long dead, you see, and not seemingly an artist.

Plant:

I can’t see what you’re seeing.

bb:

Well come over here and look over my shoulder. (Plant comes over; sees same article bb is looking at on his laptop). It seems to be just these 2 Sternbergs in wikipedia, father and son both named Charles. Interesting reference, perhaps to Bone Wars. Meat vs. Bone.

Plant:

What?

bb:

Never mind. I guess I should hit the sack again.

Plant:

We’ve failed tonight.

Hucka D.:

There are 2 Wall Lakes. You’re looking at the wrong one. The second is an inland sea. It’s been shrinking for a long time. In the early 1900s it was still the largest lake in Iowa. Today it’s not even close. Look it up… quickly. Here, let me look it up.

(Hucka D. goes over to bb and takes his computer, types something in, and hands it back).

bb (looking at screen):

OK. But what does this mean?

Hucka D.:

It means you have another east-west exactitude on your hands.

Plant:

Huh?

 

One Response to “Plant Another One…”

  1. […] Pink Floyd symbolism encountered along Route 9 somewhere as well (Moon + Wall again, or Moonwall). […]


Leave a Reply

