baker Blinker's Weblog

First and Second Life at least.

New Island!, 6 October 21, 2008

Filed under: Nautilus City — baker Blinker @ 1:23 am
Tags:

In recreating Baker Bloch’s hike today, I can see how the land will be divided up better. Most of the properties that will (very soon!) be for sale appear to be entirely square and flat, and without any preexisting landscaping such as trees or rocks. About all of the 1024sm parcels I’ve checked so far have Linden protected land on at least one or two sides, often in the form of walkways. Admittedly it looks like a nicely planned infrastructure, most definitely a number of steps above the situation on the newer continents and, to a somewhat lesser extent, the older continents as well. I just got’s a feeling these are going to be some expensive pieces of real estate. But no skin off my poor little back, as I’m happy where I am on the Atoll continent; I’m just exploring for the adventure and mystery.

Another mysterious egg-shaped object; the island is riddled with such mysteries. This one, let’s see, is called “LDPW Nautilus ancient light”, concocted by a Misty Mole this time. So many Moles! This just outside the wall that Baker Bloch is circling around to get back to the canal again.

More to the east this time, Baker encounters this nicely landscaped area full of more of those scuplty and non-sculpty olive colored cypress trees he hasn’t seen before in SL until now.

A fallen and now ivy covered column of some kind. Another Misty Mole creation.

Baker Bloch is now turning east again up past the westernmost point of the wall as he finds this monolithic circle of 5 largish, pointy rocks called Menhirs in their descriptions. Misty made again… Linden Mole. In looking up Menhir, found this definitnion at answers.com:

Type of ancient megalithic stone monument (see megalith). Menhirs were simple upright stones, sometimes of great size, erected chiefly in Western Europe. Arrangements of menhirs often form vast circles, semicircles, or ellipses. Many were built in Britain, the best-known sites being Stonehenge and Avebury in Wiltshire. Menhirs were also placed in parallel rows, called alignments, the most famous being the Carnac alignments in northwestern France, with 2,935 menhirs. These were probably used for ritual processions.

Radical!



Next: Turning a tight corner.

 

3 Responses to “New Island!, 6”

  1. I come from a contry of many menhirs and stone circles – I added one to my jungle ages ago and will be adding more to various locations when I get my finger out.

    I love the build B explored here – again, i must go soon!

  2. […] Moving in a circlular fashion now for a spell! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Work in progress   […]

  3. Hey, I need to go back to your island sometime. Luv the jungle! I actually thought about your own stone circle when I ran across this one.

    Meaning in connection to Nautilus mythology? Once again (and again): unknown.

    Let me get to that more in another comment.

    Thanks.


Leave a comment