baker Blinker's Weblog

First and Second Life at least.

Family Meeting! May 16, 2008

Filed under: Hucka D.,Uncategorized — baker Blinker @ 6:57 am
Tags:

“Thank you all for being here together tonight. I know it’s hard for all of us to be with each other at the same time.”

Baker Blinker:

Um hum.

Baker Bloch:

Events have come to place which make a meeting of the minds imperative, perhaps.

Hucka D.:

The islet.

Baker Bloch:

Ben’s Island, right.

Hucka D.:

So you’re going to say that the whole of AI should be moved, at least AI1 and perhaps AI2, 3, 4, 5, 6.

Baker Bloch:

Thank you for getting to the point, Hucka D. Yes. (pause) So… opinions?

Hucka D.:

I think it is connected to OpenSim. But if AI is removed from the Linden grid, in which it was conceived, is it — I mean, it is attached to the grid. Can it live outside the grid is the question. And is it worth saving.

Baker Blinker:

Blochs would probably say yes! He loves this place.

Baker Bloch:

Don’t you as well?

Baker Blinker:

I could live other places. I’m not sure where. I didn’t hate the mainlands as much as you did. Even the little cubby hole [Just Call Me Ernie Banks?] was adjustable for me. I’m more adaptable. I’d certainly like to hear more about the moving of the island and perhaps islands. Hucka D. seems to have a bead on this. What does your Big Book say?

Baker Bloch:

Yeah, Hucka, can you go get it?

Hucka D.:

No need because I looked it up before the meeting anticipating this question and the reasons. There are two strong probabilities, one where AI is moved offgrid and one where it is not. Fork in the road.

Baker Bloch:

Maybe both should happen. But there’s no question that this fork exists… and that the two paths are almost of equal value?

Hucka D.:

45-55, give or take 5 points. (pause) With offworld being the 55.

Baker Blinker:

If we stay here we must prepare.

Baker Bloch:

I wonder how many of the residents here actually care? I have to go to one of those islands meetings. Clear up a Saturday for me Blinks.

Baker Blinker:

Ok.

Hucka D.:

There is also the question of how many islands will make the transition if and when it comes. I think 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 should all go through, in that priority of order. The newer stuff can be left behind. But the original AI complex should be moved.

Baker Blinker:

How’s [the exploration of] Otherland going, Hucka?

Hucka D.:

Interesting that you bring that up. If AI goes, how about Otherland? How about Dreamworld? My estimation puts it that several other non-Linden oriented sub-grids could go.

Baker Bloch:

What do we do in the meantime?

Hucka D.:

Keep exploring!

*****

Baker Blinker:

Wait, let’s not adjorn yet. What about RL tie ins, Hucka?

Hucka D. (after a pause):

I did not anticipate that question for some reason. Please excuse me.

(Hucka D. retreats from the main room to his own room through the Garden of the 7 Plants. After about 5 minutes he returns.)

Hucka D.:

Ahem. Suddenly I cannot see.

 

Leave a Reply

